Moving between London and France a real headache? What are the pitfalls to avoid? What are the good practices to adopt? The My Truck to Share team gives you some good advice and accompanies you through the process. First of all, it is essential to clearly define the tasks incumbent on the removal company and/or the client. By taking the time to understand the distribution of roles you will avoid many disappointments when the time comes.

At the client's expense? At the mover's expense?

The key to making sure your move goes smoothly is to prepare for it beforehand. In order to best evaluate your needs, the removal company that you will call upon will have to accompany you throughout the process. The first step will be to estimate together the volumes you wish to move between London and France. You will then need to assess the number of boxes, luggage, furniture and household appliances. In a second step, and always in agreement, you will have to determine the precise nature of the handling. To carry out this preparation work it will be important to take into account the pick-up AND delivery addresses. You will then detail at both addresses: the floors, the presence of a functional lift, the appearance of the common areas, the question of parking and finally the need or not for an assembly / dismantling service. In this crucial stage, the customer will have to provide as much information as possible and notify the service provider in the event of a significant change.

Moving London-France, D-Day

On D-Day it is up to the moving company to step in and make sure that everything runs smoothly. Operations which have been previously specified in the special conditions of the contract. It remains to remind you that the removal company is not responsible, unless otherwise agreed, for all tasks not specified in the contract for your London-France move. Please note that a removal company cannot subcontract its activity on its own initiative. However, it is common for this type of practice to be included in the contract. In this case, the initial service provider must inform the customer at least 48 hours before the pick-up date. The client may then decide to withdraw from the contract. Finally, it should be noted that in the case of subcontracting, the initial service provider remains solely responsible for any shortcomings.

> Further information: Recommendation 16-01 "Removal contracts, furniture storage and self-service storage", 24 March 2016

Do you want to move between France and London cheaper and with confidence?

Déménager entre Londres et la France un vrai casse-tête ? Quels sont les pièges à éviter ? Quelles sont les bonnes pratiques à adopter ? L’équipe My Truck to Share vous donne quelques bons conseils et vous accompagne dans vos démarches. En premier lieu il est essentiel de bien définir les tâches incombantes à la société de déménagement et / ou au client. En prenant le temps de comprendre la répartition des rôles vous vous éviterez bien des déconvenuse le moment venu.

A la charge du client ? A la charge du déménageur ?

La clé pour s’assurer du bon déroulement de son déménagement c’est la préparation en amont de ce dernier. Pour évaluer au mieux vos besoins la société de déménagement à laquelle vous ferez appel devra vous accompagner tout au long de vos démarches. La première étape sera d’estimer ensemble les volumes que vous souhaitez faire déménager entre Londres et la France. Il vous faudra alors apprécier le nombre de cartons, de bagages, le mobilier et l’électroménager. Dans un second temps et toujours d’accord en accord il faudra déterminer la nature précise de la manutention. Pour mener à bien ce travail de préparation il sera important de prendre en compte les adresses de pick-up ET de livraison. Vous détaillerez alors aux deux adresses : les étages, la présence d’un ascenseur fonctionnel, la physionomie des  parties communes, la question du stationnement et enfin le besoin ou non d’une prestation de montage / démontage. Dans cette étape crucial le client devra fournir un maximum d’informations et aviser le prestataire en cas de changement notoire.

Déménagement Londres-France, le jour-J

Le jour-J c’est à la société de déménagement d’entrer en scène et de veiller au bon déroulement des opérations. Opérations qui ont été au préalable précisées dans les conditions particulières du contrat.  ll reste à rappeler que le prestataire de déménagement n’est pas responsable, sauf accord contraire, de toutes les tâches non renseignées dans le contrat pour votre déménagement Londres-France. Notez bien qu’une société de déménagement ne peut en aucun cas sous-traiter son activité de sa propre initiative. Pourtant il est fréquent que ce genre de pratiques soit renseignées sur le contrat. Dans ce cas de figure le prestataire initial doit informer le client au plus tard 48h avant la date de prise en charge. Le client peut alors décider de se rétracter. Précisons enfin qu’en cas de sous-traitance le prestataire initial reste le seul responsable en cas de manquements.

> Pour en savoir plus : Recommandation n°16-01 “contrats de déménagement, garde-meubles et stockage en libre-service, 24 mars 2016

Vous souhaitez déménager entre la France et Londres moins cher et en toute confiance ?